Career Seminar at Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science, Simon Fraser University: 1:30 – 2:20 pm, Friday, February 20, 2015

I am very pleased to be invited to speak to the faculty and students in the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science at Simon Fraser University on this upcoming Friday.  I look forward to sharing my career advice and answering questions from the students about how to succeed in a career in statistics.  If you will attend this seminar, please feel free to come and say “Hello”!

Eric Cai - Official Head Shot

Please note that I have already shared a lot of advice on my blog.  To avoid redundancy, I will not repeat those articles in this presentation, but I strongly encourage students to read them ahead of time.  I will gladly answer their questions about those articles afterward.

Title: “Advice on working in the statistics industry from a recent graduate”

Time and Date: 1:30 – 2:20 pm, Friday, February 20, 2015.

Location: ASB 10900, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada

Abstract:

When I went to Toronto to pursue my master’s degree in statistics in 2011, I did not have any professional contacts and had no idea what statisticians do in their jobs.  After a lot of hard work in establishing a professional network – on top of an intense 8-month M.Sc. program – I found and started a job in industrial statistics 6 days after I finished my last final exam.  Now that I have worked in 3 different statistics jobs in both Toronto and Vancouver, I have learned some valuable things that could inform statistics students about how to pursue and succeed in a career outside of academia.

In this presentation, I will

1) Tell you my story about how I explored 7 different career paths in 10 different full-time jobs as an undergraduate before choosing statistics, and how those experiences have shaped my career.

2) Describe the work that I have done in 3 different jobs and my independent consulting practice in statistics.

3) Provide advice on how to succeed as a professional in the statistics industry, highlighting my use of blogging and social media.

Your thoughtful comments are much appreciated!

